Provided below are answers to some of the most commonly asked questions we receive. Please click on a question to view the answer.
- Are you accepting applications?
Yes, applications are available here. All applicants must:
– Be a U.S. citizen at least 21 years of age
– Be a resident of South Carolina or in the process of relocating
– Possess a valid driver’s license
– Be able to pass an extensive background check
– Possess a high school diploma or the equivalent
– Have no domestic violence or felony convictions
*The Ridgeland Police Department does not discriminate on the basis of race, sex, religion, sexual orientation or national origin. It is our intention that all qualified applicants be given equal consideration and opportunity and that selections are based on job related factors.*
- How do I submit a FOIA Request?
Click here to download the forms and follow instructions on first page.
- What are your office hours?
8:30am to 5:00pm Monday through Friday
- How may I contact the office?
For emergencies, please call 9-1-1. To contact our office, please call 843-726-7530. Our fax number is 843-726-7524.
To contact us after normal business hours, please call 843-726-7519.
- How do I obtain a copy of a Police Report or Accident Report?
Reports are available for pickup during normal business hours. You will need your case number or a copy of your Victim’s form (if available). We ask that you contact the Records Clerk at 726-7530 prior to your arrival to ensure your report is ready for release.
- How long after my incident until I can get a Police Report?
We ask that you allow 3-5 business days to process the report.
- Is there a cost to get a copy of a report?
Yes. There is a fee of $5 per copy of a report. You can pay by cash or money order. We do not accept personal checks, credit cards or debit cards. However, victims can receive a copy of their report at no charge.
- Can I get a background check at the Police Department?
No. We refer all background check inquiries to SLED.
- Where can I pay my traffic citation?
Town of Ridgeland Police citations can be paid in person at Town Hall (located at 1 Town Square). The fine, along with a copy of the citation, can be mailed to the Clerk of Court at: Town of Ridgeland, P.O. Box 1119, Ridgeland, SC. 29936. Payment via the mail should only be in the form of cashiers check, certified check, or money order. Read the back of your citation for instructions.
You may also pay your citation online at www.sc.gov/pages/courtpayments.aspx
- How do I obtain a Concealed Weapon Permit?
To Learn about South Carolina Concealed Weapon Permits, please visit sled.sc.gov